Capacitor Substitution?

Double-Bubble! Place for discussing the 36W version...

Moderators: zaphod_phil, Daviedawg, Graydon, CurtissRobin, colossal

Boomstrike
Unrated

Capacitor Substitution?

Post by Boomstrike »

:? Hello everyne. My name is Steve and I am building my first amplifier. I studied posts and schematics until I felt confident I could pull this off. I ordered my parts from the richie plexi V5 schematic and forgot one part. The 500pF capacitor between the Master Volume and the tone control. I have Various extra resistors and a couple of small caps(.0022 uF) laying around.

This build is a christmas gift to my son-in-law and there is not enough time to order this part. Could anyone please give me suggestions for a substitution. Your help would be greatly appreciated.

Steve
0 x

jckid66
Occasional poster
Occasional poster

Post by jckid66 »

if you know the voltage rating of the missing cap you "might" be able to get it at radio shack ( now ducking for cover after that suggestion 8O )

Bill
0 x

Shrapnel
Occasional poster
Occasional poster

Post by Shrapnel »

That is one opt, if you still have a local electronics distributor that is open to the public, you may be able to get it there.

It will work without the cap, the tone may be a little different, as that "bypass" cap is missing. Who knows, with it NOT in the circuit, you might like it, and then you might not.
0 x
Rock and Roll Aint Noise Pollution, neither is my amp :D

Boomstrike
Unrated

Post by Boomstrike »

Thanks for the suggestions. I think the voltage would atleast be 170volts according to the voltage chart in the 36 watt download section on pin 1 of V1. It then should go higher when it picks up more V on its way to the volume pot? I thought this part is a coupling cap not a bypass? Anyhoo. I appreciate the suggestions. I will be working today and will not be able to reply till tomorrow. Thanks Steve.
0 x

Andrew4566
Occasional poster
Occasional poster

Post by Andrew4566 »