Ceriatone 18/36 TMB EF68

Double-Bubble! Place for discussing the 36W version...

Moderators: zaphod_phil, Daviedawg, Graydon, CurtissRobin, colossal

Junkmale
Unrated

Ceriatone 18/36 TMB EF68

Post by Junkmale »

G'day all,
I'm a newbie with a newbie type question. I play in a Classic Rock band (www.junkmale.com.au) and have had enough of playing through a Boss GT8 and a marshall JCM2000.......boring, too many knobs, no class. Anyway, I'm looking seriously at getting the Ceriatone 18/36 TMB EF68 and going back to basics with probably just an overdrive pedal up front for leads.
The clips on Youtube are not very good and the setups are not well explained, so I guess I'm just gauging what the general opinion is of these amps for this sort of music.
As you probably have guessed, I'm new to the 18/36w thing (although I'm old enough to know better) but I've not read a bad report on these amps.
Thanks in advance for any thoughts.
P.S Great website, great posts.
Cheers
Greg
0 x

zaphod_phil
Builder, Admin
Builder, Admin

Post by zaphod_phil »

I don't have direct personal experience of Ceriatone's EF86 variant of the 18W/36W TMB design. I can therefore just say that in general the 18W/36W TMBs are really excellent amps for classic rock playing. I know some of our members have bought Ceriatone's EF86 version and AFAIK have been very pleased. There have also been some comments about bass being a bit too much IIRC, but this small problem got successfully tweaked out in each case with the help of other 18watt.com members.
0 x
Nature abhors a clean tube amp

jaysg
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by jaysg »

I've heard good things about the Ceriatone 18/36 kits. One thing that might offer an improvement would be if you got your OT from Simcha Delft who is either in Oz or NZ...I forget which. I don't think the Ceriatone OTs are the absolute best. The PTs should be fine. I know that some of the builders get GDS iron from Graydon, which means he knows import hoops.
0 x