New 36W build, guidance needed

Double-Bubble! Place for discussing the 36W version...

Moderators: CurtissRobin, colossal, zaphod_phil, Daviedawg, Graydon

Henrik76

New 36W build, guidance needed

Post by Henrik76 »

Greetings all! Hi-ya
I just joined the community, after searching for different designs of 4xEL84 PP amps. Please correct me if I'm posting in the wrong forum.

A little introduction is probably in order:
I'm a mechanical engineer, based in Bergen, Norway. I have built and modded guitar amps as a hobby since the late 90s, although not continuously. I class myself as a medium-experienced hobbyist.

Now, to the project at hand: A smelly beast just fell into my hands. It's a Peavey Classic 50/410 which belongs to a friend of mine. I have been given carte blanche to turn it into whatever I please. The transformers check out OK, but the boards and some valves are toast.
My initial plan was to rip out the boards and do a PTP version of the original power section, coupled to a completely different pre-amp. My reasoning being that the transformers were designed for the original circuit and that they probably wouldn't handle the idle current of something like an AC30 power section and the supply voltage would most likely be excessive.
I have been studying the schematic for the Peavey, which can be found here: https://www.thetubestore.com/lib/thetub ... ematic.pdf
It is a fixed bias design, which I would probably make adjustable. I could go with cathode biasing, of course, biasing slightly cold to protect the valves and transformers, but since the bias supply is already here and the voltages probably suits that approach better, I'm leaning in that direction.
However, and this is what I cannot get my head around, in the Peavey schematic, only one out of two paralleled EL84s has a screen resistor on it! This seems very dubious to me and I cannot see why that would be, unless it's a misprint.