Best NEW 7591[A]s

Tube-specific discussions

Moderators: zaphod_phil, CurtissRobin, colossal

Shrapnel
Occasional poster
Occasional poster

Best NEW 7591[A]s

Post by Shrapnel »

Out of the current production 7591s, what is the best brands? Well, best to good, and what to avoid anyway.

I've decided to go with these for my next project and want input before actually investing in a pair. I already know NOS on these is a pipe-dream, so that leaves this last bit of research before I invest.
0 x
Rock and Roll Aint Noise Pollution, neither is my amp :D

jimipage33

Post by jimipage33 »

I've been using EH's for a few years now -- I love 'em. Sturdy, tough, warm, and loud. Still haven't tried JJ's yet. Maybe next go 'round...
0 x

fzfwyv
Occasional poster
Occasional poster

Post by fzfwyv »

From what I hear the JJ's seem to be fairly close to real 7591's. At least they are sized appropriately but I haven't had an amp in ages to try them in.

Can't remeber the exact brand but I believe you need to stay away from the EH 7591's. I thought I read they were just re-pinned 6L6's.

I've had these sitting here collecting dust (figuratively) thinking I'd build an amp for them someday. They are Raytheon 7591 dated from 1964. Yeah...a bit of spam I know...:oops: but maybe you might be interested

-Rich
rszmagaj@comcast.net
0 x

Shrapnel
Occasional poster
Occasional poster

Post by Shrapnel »

From what I understand, I Not sure if I'd want these: Sovtek 7591XYZ.
They apparently require a cathode resistor modification. Anyone experience these?

Or should I stick to the more traditional 7591A releases... give up on them and go 6L6GC? (second guessing myself now.)
0 x

Gearfixer

Post by Gearfixer »

fzfwyv wrote:From what I hear the JJ's seem to be fairly close to real 7591's. At least they are sized appropriately but I haven't had an amp in ages to try them in.