Mojotone 18W TMB Problems

18watt-specific Tech Talk - Building, Fixing, Parts, Mods...

Moderators: CurtissRobin, colossal, zaphod_phil, Daviedawg, Graydon

chunter
Unrated

Mojotone 18W TMB Problems

Post by chunter »

Hi All,
I am in need of some assistance with my Mojotone TMB build. This is my second amp build so I am still a beginner (first was a 5E3 that went well). I completed this build over the weekend but have been having issues. I get output on both channels (TMB and top input on normal, the lower input on the normal chanel has no output) however the volume level is relatively low and it doesnt sound very good.

I have ran through the circut several times highlighting the layout when checking values and wire traces and can not find any problems. I have checked all resistor and capacitor values on the board with a DMM and all match the Mojotone layout. I swapped all tubes except the rectifier (dont have a spare on hand) but nothing seems to fix the problem. I have also checked continuity on all grounds and wire traces.

Below are some photos of the build and the measured voltages. Here is a link to the Mojotone layout that came with the kit https://www.mojotone.com/site/TT_SB2_Fi ... B%20WD.pdf. At this point I am at a loss as to what to check next, any advice/feedback would be greatly appreciated.
IMG_3508 2.jpg
IMG_3509.jpg
IMG_3510.jpg
IMG_3511.jpg
Voltages.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
1 x

Daviedawg
Superior Amp Tech
Superior Amp Tech

Re: Mojotone 18W TMB Problems

Post by Daviedawg »

Welcome to 18 Watt. I hope we can help. Your work is very neat which helps a lot with troubleshooting.

The first thing I see is that if one of the normal pair of inputs is working and the other is not then you should look closely at the way you have wired the inputs. It can be confusing. Solving that may affect your output volumes. But then again I do not think so. But do that first and review the effects.