First build troubleshooting

18watt-specific Tech Talk - Building, Fixing, Parts, Mods...

Moderators: zaphod_phil, Daviedawg, Graydon, CurtissRobin, colossal

9voltchicken
Unrated

First build troubleshooting

Post by 9voltchicken »

Greetings! I am a luthier based out of Sacramento, CA, and have been building and repairing guitars for a number of years now. Many of my customers ask about tube amplifier repair since there is a shortage of technicians in my area, I thought it might be wise to expand my knowledge a bit and turn this newfound interest into another facet of my profession. I sure am having a hell of a lot of fun so far! I am fairly inexperienced when It comes to troubleshooting electronics outside of guitars and basses and it shows. I've done a fair bit of reading up on tube amp theory, watching Uncle Doug poke around in old amps on youtube, and I am looking at taking a course on circuit analysis to further clarify some of the more advanced topics.

I ordered an amp kit from Stewmac (actually a mojotone kit) and built the amp without much fuss other than two problems. The first problem was 60 cycle hum, which was resolved after chopsticking and replacing a bad lead dress wire. The main problem that has stumped me for weeks is lack of gain. There is no discernible difference between normal and tremolo channels. Hi/low inputs for the tremolo channel work just fine, but both inputs for the normal channel are identical.

Here's a link to more pictures of my build. Let me know what you think!

https://photos.app.goo.gl/r1GwRzaWQ93qmFBU7
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
0 x

JMPGuitars
Super Duper Admin
Super Duper Admin

Re: First build troubleshooting

Post by JMPGuitars »

Welcome to the site!

If you want to get serious about this, and it sounds like you do, start here:

Soldering technique: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=25396
Ground schemes: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=25372

Study the content of those well.