TMB with 6V6?

18watt-specific Tech Talk - Building, Fixing, Parts, Mods...

Moderators: zaphod_phil, Daviedawg, Graydon, CurtissRobin, colossal

dogmeat
Unrated

TMB with 6V6?

Post by dogmeat »

I looked around this site & didn't see such a thing. what do you think? I'm kinda on a 6V6 roll these days & I like that schematic. I also have a nice new Classic Tone 18W PT that needs a spot somewhere. I believe the voltages are higher than the schematic. pro/con? I've built 4 amps & done some mods & repairs etc so not a total noob
0 x

crgfrench
Frequent poster
Frequent poster

Re: TMB with 6V6?

Post by crgfrench »

You can build a Lite IIB with 6V6s instead of EL84s.

EDIT ahh sorry thats not TMB. You can build the TMB with 6V6s instead of EL84s also, see http://www.trinityamps.com/wp-content/u ... ic-v12.pdf
0 x

JMPGuitars
Super Duper Admin
Super Duper Admin

Post by JMPGuitars »

dogmeat wrote:
Sat 08/17/19 7:01 pm
I looked around this site & didn't see such a thing. what do you think? I'm kinda on a 6V6 roll these days & I like that schematic. I also have a nice new Classic Tone 18W PT that needs a spot somewhere. I believe the voltages are higher than the schematic. pro/con? I've built 4 amps & done some mods & repairs etc so not a total noob
You didn't search that well. ;) There's plenty of posts about 6v6 builds. Here's a fairly recent one: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=25224&hilit=6v6#p241688

Running 6v6 instead of EL84 isn't that big of a difference. You mostly need to bias them differently (as you can see in that schematic, though his bias resistor is higher than the Dockery layout he likely copied).

Here's another post showing the Dockery layout/schematic that has info for both EL84 or 6v6: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=25190&p=241297&hilit=6v6#p241299

Here's the dockery schematic: http://rh-tech.org/public/18-Watt/Docke ... ematic.pdf