JCM 18w power section

18watt-specific Tech Talk - Building, Fixing, Parts, Mods...

Moderators: zaphod_phil, Daviedawg, Graydon, CurtissRobin, colossal

samuraijackson
Unrated

JCM 18w power section

Post by samuraijackson »

Hello,
first post here! I'm going to build my first 18w, I'm a marshall lover so this will be a JCM preamp into a EL84 power amp. It's a tube town kit and here is the schematic:

https://www.tube-town.net/cms/userfiles ... -schem.pdf

I noticed that the EL84 grid resistors (100k) are way higher than the usual 2.7k marshall uses in the 18w amps. Coupling caps is also 100nf instead of .022.
Any reasons for this change? Do you think this is a good build or should I change something?

Thank you for your attention, please consider that I'm a newbie in amp building, but I already built a 5f1 which I love and works great.

Regards,
SJ
0 x

crgfrench
Frequent poster
Frequent poster

Re: JCM 18w power section

Post by crgfrench »

That is a fixed-bias amp with a buffered tone stack. Not going to sound like a true 18 Watter at all. Your build choice will depend on what kind of sound you want from the amp.
2 x

samuraijackson
Unrated

Post by samuraijackson »

hi and thanks for your reaply :D
I'm looking for a low watt plexi/jcm kind of sound, it doesnt matter if it doesn't sound like a proper 18w.
1 x

geoff 1965
Verbose poster
Verbose poster

Post by geoff 1965 »

have a browse through the "downloads" section of the forum,the schematics/layouts are tried & tested and there is a good variation of 18W's to choose from.the 18W plexi sounds like what you are looking for but define "low watt" because the 18 watters are loud if you are wanting room level volumes! consider using VVR or a post inverter volume.
1 x

samuraijackson
Unrated

Post by samuraijackson »