Planning my first build

18watt-specific Tech Talk - Building, Fixing, Parts, Mods...

Moderators: CurtissRobin, colossal, zaphod_phil, Daviedawg, Graydon

djpj1977
Unrated

Planning my first build

Post by djpj1977 »

Hey all, I signed up here last week because I want to build my own amp and I think an 18 watt TMB should be cool for a first build. I'm new to amp building but I've put 10 pedal kits together and mostly all worked with no troubleshooting. I've swapped tubes and done biasing in my amps, done some electrical troubleshooting on my vehicles and other equipment, and took a lower division electromagnetism class in a calculus level physics series. I'm interested in learning the inner workings of tube amps and feel competent enough to complete a build with guidance.

So I've been looking at the 18 watt kits out there and I'm leaning towards the Mojotone TMB because it has a JCM 800 style preamp and I'll be playing a mix of classic rock, hard rock, and metal. Before I pull the trigger I'm hoping you guys can help me out with a few questions.

I notice that most kits don't list all the brands of parts included. Is anyone familiar with the MT kit? Are there any components I should consider upgrading? I don't mind spending more to get the best sound and dependability.

Without getting too complicated, are there any design upgrades I should make right out of the gate? One thing I've noticed looking at the layout- (https://www.mojotone.com/kits/BritishAm ... lifier-Kit) It looks to me like the master volume feeds the input of the PI from what I've read it's far better after.

I've read a few people complaining about mistakes in the MT build docs (mainly leaving out shielded wires iirc). All of these 18 watters are based on the same circuit right? Could I use a different source for build docs? I heard one company gives 50+ pages instructions with some theory. Can't remember who, but I'll find it. Like I said, I want to learn what's going on.