good speaker cabinet for 18W head

Seeing and hearing is believing

Moderators: zaphod_phil, Daviedawg, Graydon, CurtissRobin, colossal

zakk64
Unrated

good speaker cabinet for 18W head

Post by zakk64 »

Hello all, I'm new to amp making so I'm in the researching stage at the moment. I think I'm going to go with building a PP18W Plexi head from amp maker, question is what kind of speaker cab should I go for? I play in a blues band, and at the moment I use a 15W Blackheart handsome Devil that I've modded with Valve rectification. It's pretty loud and does nice bluesy crunch, problem is a 18W Plexi will probably do it better, especially if I've built it! I'm not thinking of building a cab at the moment, just want to buy one, and of course I'm on a tight budget, so about £200 max. Peter Green, Bluesbreaker Clapton, Freddie King is where I'm at.

Cheers!
0 x

JMPGuitars
Super Duper Admin
Super Duper Admin

Re: good speaker cabinet for 18W head

Post by JMPGuitars »

zakk64 wrote:Hello all, I'm new to amp making so I'm in the researching stage at the moment. I think I'm going to go with building a PP18W Plexi head from amp maker, question is what kind of speaker cab should I go for? I play in a blues band, and at the moment I use a 15W Blackheart handsome Devil that I've modded with Valve rectification. It's pretty loud and does nice bluesy crunch, problem is a 18W Plexi will probably do it better, especially if I've built it! I'm not thinking of building a cab at the moment, just want to buy one, and of course I'm on a tight budget, so about £200 max. Peter Green, Bluesbreaker Clapton, Freddie King is where I'm at.

Cheers!
That's a question that you might need to answer for yourself after building your amp head. If you're looking for a cabinet that comes with speakers, you should bring the completed amp head with you to a store that you can actually test some cabs out with the head.