36 Watt with EL-34

Double-Bubble! Place for discussing the 36W version...

Moderators: zaphod_phil, Daviedawg, Graydon, CurtissRobin, colossal

hanskwijhe
Unrated

36 Watt with EL-34

Post by hanskwijhe »

Is there someone with experience with this:

Making a 36 W amp with 2 EL-34's in PP.

I am wondering how this would sound.
As an electrical engineer I think this is a better approach than 4 EL-84's in PP. Since the 2+2 EL 84's are never exactly equal and one of each pair will be stressed more than the other. If you take two EL-34's you do not have the matching problem and they are not stressed to the max to deliver 36 W output and it is also a bit cheaper probably.

Feed back welcome !
0 x

morcey2
Frequent poster
Frequent poster

Post by morcey2 »

Do a search for '18watt heavyII' (I think). It's a 18-watt derived 6L6 amp.

As for the matching/stress issue, you're right from an engineering approach. Now knock it off. Take the engineer hat off for a while. :wink:

Mismatched power tubes aren't a bad thing in a guitar amp, as long as they're not insanely mismatched. In a PP amp like the 36-watt, the mismatch leads to a warmer, more pleasant sound. In a perfectly matched PP output stage, all even harmonics are canceled out and only odds (and the fundamental) remain. Mismatching allows many of these even harmonics through and creates a very rich distorted tone that these amps are known for.

Another part of the sound is pushing them to their limits and beyond. It's another piece of the psychotic puzzle we call tone.