Planning ahead for Trem

18watt-specific Tech Talk - Building, Fixing, Parts, Mods...

Moderators: zaphod_phil, Daviedawg, Graydon, CurtissRobin, colossal

Rich_S
Occasional poster
Occasional poster

Planning ahead for Trem

Post by Rich_S »

I'm planning a conversion of a Bogen PA amp into a "13-Watter" with ECL86's doing double duty as the output stage and the PI.

My question concerns the trem channel of the 18-Watter. Eventually, I want to build in the trem function, but since this is my first build, I figure I'll get it working without trem for now, then fuss with the trem later.

For the time being, I plan to leave out the phase-shift network, but how should I wire the trem side of the 12AX7? I figure I can just ground the grid, but what about the plate? What will give me operation closest to having the full trem circuit installed? In particular, what's the 220K plate resistor do to the preamp tube's operating point? Should I include the 220K in the initial build, or just use the 100K plate resistor, similar to the non-trem channel?

Can anyone explain the theory of the trem channel with regard to biasing, plate resistors, load lines, etc., or is the theory simply, "fool around with it 'til it works"?
0 x
La, la, laaaa... la-la, la, la!

Rich Stevens

See the 2-Tone Blue Mutant 13 Watter!

markh
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by markh »

You can simply ground the grid of the trem side for now.

Leave in both the 100k and 220k plate resistors. The combination of the 220K and the varying plate resistance of the right triode causes the trem effect. When the trem is off, the right triode acts like a constant Z. Keep the 820 ohm cathode R to bias both triodes, but you can leave out the intensity pot for now.

The right side triode is a simple linear amplifier, nothing fancy in terms of load lines or biasing.

--mark
0 x

zaphod_phil
Builder, Admin
Builder, Admin

Re: Planning ahead for Trem

Post by zaphod_phil »