blowing fuses with no tubes

Double-Bubble! Place for discussing the 36W version...

Moderators: zaphod_phil, Daviedawg, Graydon, CurtissRobin, colossal

vigs
Unrated

blowing fuses with no tubes

Post by vigs »

hey all,

i was enjoying my 36 watt tmb for some time (i purchased it thirdhand, i have no knowledge of who the original builder is). it had some oscillation issues when i picked it up which i addressed by cleaning up the lead dress. i also put in a half power mod. at practice the other day, it just gave up on me. mains fuse was blown and testing with no tubes, it still blows fuses. i've read this most likely implicates a shorted PT or filter cap. i tried testing the PT with everything i could do from this page (http://www.geofex.com/ampdbug/pwrtrans.htm) without having it powered up and it tested fine. also, poking around the chassis, i don't see any leads that have come loose or anything that should be shorting out.

where should i go from here? i figure next step could be desoldering the PT from it's connections and seeing if it pops fuses connected to nothing. i assume that could definitely implicate a blown PT. anything i can do to suss out if it's the filter caps?

thanks for the help!
0 x

kd
Verbose poster
Verbose poster

Post by kd »

Leave the tubes out of the amp and put the standby switch in the "standby" position(not play). Turn the amp on and see if the fuse blows.

Does the amp have a tube rectifier or SS rectifiers?

Ken
0 x

rjgtr
Builder, Admin
Builder, Admin

Post by rjgtr »

Without the tubes, the OT shouldn't provide enough of a load to be a problem. As Ken asks, what kind of rectifier is it? If it is tube and the tube is out, then you very well might have a bad PT. But don't rule out a bad wire or other simple issue. It only requires one strand of wire to ground or cause mayhem. Also check the power light, make sure it's not shorting or otherwise having an issue.
0 x

vigs
Unrated

Post by vigs »

it has a tube rectifier.