Help improve pp-18 tone

18watt-specific Tech Talk - Building, Fixing, Parts, Mods...

Moderators: CurtissRobin, colossal, zaphod_phil, Daviedawg, Graydon

asd

Help improve pp-18 tone

Post by asd »

Hello guys, sorry to post with this account: I've found it on the internet because I couldn't signup for months.
I even wrote to Graydon but he said I have to wait the registrations to be opened again.

I've lurked for six months, and while the building experience was great (it's my first build) and the help I got from this forum was unvaluable, I think still something is not quite right with the tone.
It sounds very similar to this: http://guitargear.org/2009/10/26/el84-f ... that-tone/
Well he loved that tone but it don't think is quite right judging from sample sounds and videos I've seen posted here.

What I've done until now (thanks to all the informations I found on this site, I knew nothing about tubes 6 months ago!):

-Increased grid stopper resistor to 220k (helped a bit with the fizz)
-Installed a zobel network (10ohm/2.2uf, helped a bit)
-Decreased leak resistor to 220k (the volume knob became more useful)

I tried the bigger cathod cap with bigger bias resistor, and even stock resistor w/o cathod cap. Didn't help a lot with fizzness and stole some life from the amp, so I putted stock values back.

Now, not that the amp sounds bad (it's a lot better that that sound sample above), but still if I rise the volume over, say, 12 o clock, I get the fizz.

Another funny thing is that I never had the chance to really push it for hours, until recently that I got a palmer speaker sim: today without changing anything I felt a big improvement. Is there such thing as tube break-in?

Anyway, I'm stuck at this point: I don't even know if the problem comes from the preamp or not. Is there also a bit of muddines in the sound.
I've read one person had good result decreasing V1 plate value to 68k.

Could it solve my problem? Is there anything else I should do?