The best sounding EL84

Tube-specific discussions

Moderators: CurtissRobin, colossal, zaphod_phil

crgfrench
Frequent poster
Frequent poster

The best sounding EL84

Post by crgfrench »

What is the best brand of EL84 for an 18W or 36W build?
0 x

Bieworm
Verbose Moderator
Verbose Moderator

Re: The best sounding EL84

Post by Bieworm »

I know the standard answer is NOS mullard...

BUT

As an 18 watt freshman I have no real particular sound in my head so my expectations are a white canvas...

From what I know the EL84 are pushed all the time, so that calls for very sturdy tubes. So I didn't take and chances and went for NOS mil spec russian tubes. 6P14P
I think they sound awesome and they are really cheap
https://www.tube-town.net/ttstore/russi ... 4-nos.html
They're not matched, but don't need to be because they are built with narrow spread on the specs.
1 x
"THIS should be played at high volume..preferably in a residential area"

JMPGuitars
Super Duper Admin
Super Duper Admin

Post by JMPGuitars »

I like new production Mullard and Tung Sol, but slightly prefer the Mullard.

I am curious to try the new production Tung Sol 7189 tubes. They're supposedly made to the vintage spec, but I want to know how they really compare to a standard EL84.
1 x
'I installed a skylight in my apartment yesterday... The people who live above me are furious.' - Steven Wright

Modern Ground Schemes
Soldering Technique
B+ Voltage Reduction
Amplifier Tools & Parts Info

Web Design: DolceVittoria.com
Guitars / Amps / Effects: JMPGuitars.com
(anti)Social: Facebook · Instagram
Items for Sale

zaphod_phil
Builder, Admin
Builder, Admin

Post by zaphod_phil »

While EL84s are power pentodes, 7189s are actually beam tetrodes, which means they have a somewhat higher damping factor. I'm sure a lot of folks would be interested to find out what your results are with these RI 7189s.
1 x
Nature abhors a clean tube amp

JMPGuitars
Super Duper Admin
Super Duper Admin

Post by JMPGuitars »