Antek toroid PT for an 18w TMB build?

18watt-specific Tech Talk - Building, Fixing, Parts, Mods...

Moderators: zaphod_phil, Daviedawg, Graydon, CurtissRobin, colossal

joulupukki
Unrated

Antek toroid PT for an 18w TMB build?

Post by joulupukki »

I’m wondering if anyone has successfully used one of these power transformers for an 18w build?

https://www.antekinc.com/power-transformers/

If so, which one, and did you have to make any adjustments or changes to voltage dropping resistors/etc?
1 x

joulupukki
Unrated

Re: Antek toroid PT for an 18w TMB build?

Post by joulupukki »

My best guess is that this one would work, but I'll admit I'm a newbie to understanding exactly what to look for...

https://www.antekinc.com/as-1t300-100va ... ansformer/
0 x

Bieworm
Verbose Moderator
Verbose Moderator

Post by Bieworm »

There are plenty alternatives for that PT. I find toroidal transformers not very pretty and I understand/read they are more prone on making mechanical noise or vibrations.
0 x
"THIS should be played at high volume..preferably in a residential area"

Unit_1

Post by Unit_1 »

I was looking at the same thing about 15 years ago and the prices for toroidal iron made it an unacceptable choice. They produce less 60hz (or 50) hum and therefore can be closer to sensitive circuits, and are used in power bricks for pedals as well as tokamac reactors so everything from A to Z that needs a quietier power source.

The pricing on the link you provided surprised me, they certainly have come down in price, and I was also surprised to see they have chokes, PT and OT's. Nice. I may have to try this afterall.