Heritage Greenback in Blackstar Artisan combo

Seeing and hearing is believing

Moderators: zaphod_phil, Daviedawg, Graydon, CurtissRobin, colossal

Bigsby67
Unrated

Heritage Greenback in Blackstar Artisan combo

Post by Bigsby67 »

Hello I am new to these lovely forums. I recently purchased a Blackstar Artisan combo which apparently has similar topology to the Marshall 1974. It is listed as dual EL84 and 15 watts but apparently these are biased very hot and will definitely put out more than 15 watts.

I currently have a Celestion Vintage 30 in the combo but it's quite loud and brash. I am hoping to put a Heritage G12M in the combo because the warmer tone and 96 dB vs 100 dB efficiency should get me closer to the volume/tone I am seeking.

My only worry is that the Heritage G12M is listed as a 20 watt speaker. I have also heard that open-back cabinets allow more speaker excursion which may damage the little G12M 20 watter. I am attaching a reversed-engineered circuit diagram I found online since Blackstar won't release that info.

Can anyone provide insight on the safety of this speaker/amp? Also the amp is pretty awesome - it's all turret board construction, has a 12AX7 and EF86 channel, and only volume and tone knobs for each channel. Very raw barebones sound. It was purchased for $1200 CAD which is way below the cost of any handwired Marshall or Vox amps I can find.

Thanks!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
0 x

Bieworm
Verbose Moderator
Verbose Moderator

Re: Heritage Greenback in Blackstar Artisan combo

Post by Bieworm »

Just put a regular 25W greenback in it. Much cheaper and you won’t look back.. they sound awesome
0 x
"THIS should be played at high volume..preferably in a residential area"

Bigsby67
Unrated

Post by Bigsby67 »

Bieworm wrote:
Wed 03/29/23 4:00 pm
Just put a regular 25W greenback in it. Much cheaper and you won’t look back.. they sound awesome