What influences darkness or brightness of tone?

18watt-specific Tech Talk - Building, Fixing, Parts, Mods...

Moderators: zaphod_phil, Daviedawg, Graydon, CurtissRobin, colossal

cuffers65240
Unrated

What influences darkness or brightness of tone?

Post by cuffers65240 »

I am currently changing some parts in my mostly stock Weber 18 watt TMB. I started playing with changes for two reasons, one is that I think the tone overall is a little dark and that I think the TMB channel has harsh distortion. I have modded this amp with zener diodes to get rid of blocking distortion and given each output tube it’s own cathode resistor and removed the bypass cap to drop the output wattage (this was a great mod for home use).

I have re wired channel one to match the schematic in the downloads section for the 18Watt TMB (Richie’s TMB) which consisted of using 820 ohm cathode resistors on V1 (vs1.5K) and swapping some coupling caps to different values. This did not brighten anything but it did make the tone control work better (turning the knob did not seem to effect tone much before).

What in an amp like this influences tone in terms of bright vs dark? Coupling cap values, output transformer, preamp tube bias, speaker or something else? I am not searching for Vox sparkle but would like to brighten a little.

Thanks
0 x

JMPGuitars
Super Duper Admin
Super Duper Admin

Re: What influences darkness or brightness of tone?

Post by JMPGuitars »

Everything you listed affects the tone, especially the speaker. 18watters, especially in classic configuration, are typically considered bright amps. What speaker are you using?
0 x
'I installed a skylight in my apartment yesterday... The people who live above me are furious.' - Steven Wright

Modern Ground Schemes
Soldering Technique
B+ Voltage Reduction
Amplifier Tools & Parts Info

Web Design: DolceVittoria.com
Guitars / Amps / Effects: JMPGuitars.com
(anti)Social: Facebook · Instagram
Items for Sale

cuffers65240
Unrated