Introduction--at my wits end

18watt-specific Tech Talk - Building, Fixing, Parts, Mods...

Moderators: zaphod_phil, Daviedawg, Graydon, CurtissRobin, colossal

Hanover Fiste
Unrated

Introduction--at my wits end

Post by Hanover Fiste »

Hello all! My first post, so a short introduction.

I've been working in electronics for ~40 years, and have access to laboratory-grade test equipment at work (oscilloscopes, signal generators, spectrum analyzers, etc.).

I've built a few effects pedals, and so far 4 amp kits (Tube Depot JTM45, Mojotone Studio One (two of them) and just finished a Mojotone 18W TMB.

They all work perfectly, except--the TMB has a loud 120 Hz hum which I cannot resolve. I've added shielded cable, which helped a little. I've checked all connections, as well as the wiring diagram and schematics.

I changed the ground points to only three (electric, power amp, and preamp).

With the preamp tubes pulled, the amp is silent. When I install V3 (phase Inverter) the noise returns. With V1 & V2 installed, without V3, the amp is silent. If I move the wires connected to V3 towards the circuit board, the noise decreases.

When I tap on the V3 coupling capacitor, I hear a loud pop. I ordered some replacement capacitors; possibly the coupling capacitor is bad.

Any other ideas?
Last edited by Hanover Fiste on Sun 02/04/24 8:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
0 x

JMPGuitars
Super Duper Admin
Super Duper Admin

Re: Introduction--at my wits end

Post by JMPGuitars »

Hi, welcome to the site!

Unfortunately the Mojotone kits (at least for 18W) are not great, and their docs are terrible.

You can read through the threads in my signature for tips, especially regarding grounding, which it sounds like you may have already done to some extent.

You mentioned moving the wires- we call that "chopsticking." Using a wooden chopstick, we'll move wires around to reduce noises and cure possible issues caused by lead placement. It's good to do this in your case too.