Marshall 4-10 slant cab construction help

Seeing and hearing is believing

Moderators: zaphod_phil, Daviedawg, Graydon, CurtissRobin, colossal

myamp
Occasional poster
Occasional poster

Post by myamp »

I posted this request at the yahoo website. I am going to build an 18 watt head and I like the looks of the 4-10 slant cab on page 190 of the Doyle "The History of Marshall" book. I assume it is still the same as a current model.

Does anyone have any construction details. I have no cab for references. What does it look like in the inside ect. How is a Marshall baffle board made? I have a lot of experience with Fenders but not with Marshall's

Thanks Tom
0 x

SpentMusic
Admin, Charter Member
Admin, Charter Member

4X10 slant cab

Post by SpentMusic »

Hi Tom,

I have a 4 X 12 cabinet built that is still naked and will post some pictures of the baffle and inside for you. The top of the cabinet is 3 inches thinner then the bottom (11 as opposed to 14) on the 4 X 12 cabinet. Not sure what the difference would be on the 4 X 10 but guessing the same ratio.

The baffle is made of 2 pieces and held together by a brace on the inside and the outside. My digital camara is in Florida with my wife and kids on holiday. Won't be back till Friday.

Hang on till then and will get them to you.

Jeff Swanson
SpentMusic, Inc.
www.swansoncabinets.com :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
0 x

79strat

Post by 79strat »

I too have lots of pictures of the insides of a 4x12 cabinet - one I recovered, and a couple that I built. I also have construction "plans" which I drew for a 4x12 (though they don't show the insides).

I already tried to upload the cab plans for somebody else but don't think they made it - the attachment mechanism isn't real straightforward (help appreciated). If you email me though I can forward all the stuff directly to you, or put it out on the web someplace (later today at the earliest).
0 x

SpentMusic
Admin, Charter Member
Admin, Charter Member

4 X 12 construction pictures