Adding reverb to 18 watters

18watt-specific Tech Talk - Building, Fixing, Parts, Mods...

Moderators: zaphod_phil, Daviedawg, Graydon, CurtissRobin, colossal

electroid

Adding reverb to 18 watters

Post by electroid »

:?:

I'm new to the 18 watt game (and this forum) although I've been repairing and modding amps for years (mostly Fender). Anyway, I'm about to build my first amp from scratch. It will be based on the Marshall 18 watt design. My customer is inquiring about adding reverb. Before I re-design the wheel, has anyone on this forum successfully added really good sounding reverb to their 18 watt clone?

Thanks,
0 x

AdamK
Admin
Admin

I don't think so...

Post by AdamK »

Since I've been lurking it's come up a few times, but I don't think anyone has gone as far as to make a schem for it, nor had detailed implementation discussions.

Use the search term reverb here. I just tried it and there's a lot of chatter on the subject (127 hits). Mostly disscussion about trying it from what I saw. :lol: And it always seems to spin off into discussion about a stand-alone tank...

If you end up giving it a shot, I know many people would be interested in hearing about your efforts. It's been talked about enough...

Thanks and good luck,

Adam
0 x

Gabi
Senior Amp Tech
Senior Amp Tech

Post by Gabi »

Electroid...

I've found this schematic here in one of the earlier yahoogroups messages (not sure about the poster), it might help.
Also a shot of the board.

Gabi.
0 x

electroid

Post by electroid »

Thanks Adam. I'll post whatever happens. I'll have to check and see if the customere wants to spend the $$ to make reverb happen. I would probably use the standard Fender circuit. That is the one I know best.
0 x

electroid

Post by electroid »

Thanks very much Gabstero! This might be useful. Unfortunately, there is no info on the reverb transformer or reverb tank.